jump to navigation

Longevity Link Dump April 27, 2012

Posted by Metabiological in Longevity.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Occasionally I remember that my original blog, long since lost to the unforgiving maelstrom that is the internet, was focused on healthy living and that what originally got me into transhumanism was an interest in longevity, anti-aging and overall healthy living research.  It’s still sort of a side interest for me but nowadays relegated to little more than trying to keep up with what’s actually going on in the field via science websites.  In that spirit here are a few interesting tidbits that have popped up in the last few weeks.  Give them a read if you missed them the first time around.
Dark chocolate helps prevent cardiovascular disease – Science has given you an excuse to eat chocolate.  What more do you want?

Berries may prevent cognitive decline among elderly – Berries too!

Oregano kills prostate cancer cells – If I could put oregano in everything I would.

Secret to staving off age related declines? Stay stimulated – You don’t use it, you lose it.

Island evolution may select for longer lived animals – Lack of predators seems to be the main driver but I was more interested in the role resource limitation plays.  Why?  Because it sounds familiar.

Salad may prevent oxidative damage after workouts – I hate salad.  I may desire immortality but I have my limits.

You may have noticed that a lot of these have to do with “natural” solution like eating a healthier diet.  Why have I neglected supplementation?  Well, mainly because I’m not a fan.  Part of that may be the fact that I had to sell them at one point in my life and am thus intimately familiar with the sheer amount of crap peddled by the industry.  More importantly though I just don’t think the concept is a sound one.  Given our current understanding of the human body and the relative primitive nature of our tools to fix it I’m not convinced that supplementation is a viable path to longevity, especially given the massive dosages that supplements are usually given in when compared to the concentrations of those same compounds found in food.  Call me a luddite if you want but occasionally I put my trust in evolution and life rather than human ingenuity.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

